It’s been a while since I’ve written on this blog, close to just about 2 months I believe. In that time since my miniature departure from this several things have changed, and will continue to do so, as such I felt this post was necessary. 

If you’ve read my blog before you may have come across a selection of podcast episodes with no collective title. Those podcasts are my “design podcasts” where I hash out game jam ideas with my friend Dave. Whilst a fun side-adventure, I felt that it was somewhat lacking in direction, there didn’t seem to be any definitive goal per episode. As such I’ve decided to shelf the podcast, and fine tune it until I feel it more deserving of any listeners time – I hope you can appreciate my want for a better, more polished product to put my name on.

Secondly, the most recent couple of articles have been on design issues, limitations or just straight up personal grievances with certain parts of games. This is something that I’d like to continue doing, as a game designer it’s important to me to evaluate what makes games fall down, and stand the tests of time. It’ll be a case of articulating design principles and creating a hopefully cohesive domain specific language in regards to games – something that many have tried/are trying to do! It’ll also be a way of improving my own view and understanding of the field of design – No one is ever finished learning, even when they’re leading their field, as such one should always seek to improve.

Finally onto development, for what good is design without the coding building blocks (or paper prototypes for physical games). In the past half to three-quarters of a year I’ve been coding games in Unity all of which were clones of classic games such as Brick Breaker, Pong, Pac-Man & Tetris. This has developed a foundation of understanding for how to build the foundations of a game itself. This isn’t to suggest I know everything I’ll ever need (see the end of the 2nd paragraph), but I now realise that making those games wasn’t as much fun without adding in new interesting mechanics. As such in the new year I aim to finally start building games of my own design, no more learning for learning sake, but learning to improve and push myself. I am one of many who want to work in the games industry, and you don’t get to own your own studio or work for one of the few companies here in the UK without being one of the best or most self-driven people.

So there won’t be any more podcasts for a while, indefinitely really until I feel it’s a product worthy of peoples time to listen to, as a man with many podcasts and audio-books I can appreciate how little time we can have to truly sit down and appreciate even audio media. This blog will now have more design articles, however given my restrictions on time I cannot guarantee specific dates or amounts of posts a week or even month. I would however like to get at least 1 post in every month, thus giving me time to review and improve my drafts. Finally I’m going to start working on my own games, as such this blog may be filled with how I tackled situations, and explanations of code. This works in both my, and your (the readers) favour, if you’re unfamiliar with the Feynman technique it’s a way of learning through explaining what you know thus allowing you to review your own areas for improvement.

I believe those are the most major updates for this blog, there will always be life to get in the way of these plans, but when is anything ever clear cut? So thanks for reading, I hope you enjoy what’s to come and are excited as I am (not to mention nervous!).

Until the new year have an awesome season, keep on designing and see you next time!

 

Leave a Reply

